Here we go…

April 14, 2010

The Joy of Exfoliating Your Possessions AND Getting Credit on Your Taxes

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ashley Hawthorne @ 2:58 pm

I stumbled across a blog several months ago that has greatly inspired me to “exfoliate” my possessions!  Makeunder My Life is one of those reminders that half of the things we own and hold on to for years and years just end up clogging up the space that we live in.  Each week she features a “End of the week Exfoliation” that encourages readers to get rid of a few things each week.  I would not consider myself a pack rat but I am very unorganized so sometimes I hold on to things because I am waiting to find a place to put them!  Check out this site and I’m sure you will be encouraged to let go of things such as the shoes that have a broken heel that you have been meaning to take to the repair shop for 2 years, the 25 Danielle Steel novels that you’ve read over the past 10 years of beach trips, and the stack of t-shirts that you have been meaning to take to Goodwill since last summer.

I know that it is hard getting rid of things.  Doing so, however, is the ONLY way to end up with a neat, peaceful, perfectly edited space.  Your breaths will be easier and your evenings much less stressful and chaotic.  That wonderful feeling of stepping into a hotel room and only having the things you need for a good night’s rest is not as far away as you think.  Just LET IT GO!!!  You will never need half of the things you think you need.  RESIST the urge to box it up and put it in the attic!!  I promise- just say no!  Check out these pictures for examples of de-cluttered, beautifully edited rooms.  They are all taken from the latest issue of Lonny Magazine.

Speaking of Goodwill- I have a cool iPhone app that will help you in keeping track of the things that you donate.  With taxes as high as they are, and every little bit more you make and every bit you save, unfortunately you will be paying more and more of them.  I am a big fan of itemizing deductions, so rather than having to estimate your donations, etc. this handly little app helps you keep track of them all year!  Believe it or not, you will come out WAY further ahead than having a garage sale if you needs are not immediate cash.  If you need the cash, then garage sales make sense, but this really can drop your adjusted gross income by thousands if used consistently.  Last night I went through the spare bedroom/storage room and collected over $500 worth of things to donate!   Now they are stored safely within my phone with approximate values provided by the IRS.  idonatedit

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks so much for mentioning MML here on your blog, Ashley! Feel free to send on in your exfoliations and I’ll post them at the end of each week.

    Have a great day,
    Jess!

    Comment by Jess LC — April 14, 2010 @ 5:48 pm

  2. I LOVE that first image! And I’m a HUGE fan of minimalization… Of course, living in a small apartment helps me to automatically “exfoliate,” but minimalizing your life and house really does help you to relax!

    Comment by Erin — April 15, 2010 @ 7:41 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

